Leibniz ScienceCampus Mainz: Byzantium between Orient and Occident

Focus Area

The Byzantine Empire played a vital role in the formation of modern Europe and the Middle East. Between the 4th and the 12th century, it was the leading culture that set standards in all areas of life and that had a key influence on all neighbouring states. Byzantium formed a bridge between Antiquity and the Modern Age and, at the same time, between Europe and the Orient. The Byzantine heritage is still present today in many countries in the form of the Orthodox Church. Despite its historical significance, research into Byzantine history and culture in Germany occupies a niche area, although the Byzantine element is gaining a new importance against the background of the European unification process.


The Mainz ScienceCampus aims to establish a broad platform for interdisciplinary Byzantine studies within an institutional framework. It comprises representatives from several fields, including Byzantine studies, Christian archaeology and Byzantine art history, as well as all disciplines that contribute to research into the Byzantine Empire and its culture. The Mainz ScienceCampus promotes the integration of dispersed scientific disciplines dedicated to Byzantium. It brings together thematic, multidisciplinary, historical and cultural research under one roof and, by presenting Byzantine studies as a whole, aims to improve the visibility of this scientific field.


The ScienceCampus is an initiative of the Leibniz Association that aims to establish closer links between research carried out at universities and non-university research institutions. Under the umbrella of the campus, the partnership is to bundle excellence, carry out strategic research, foster interdisciplinary thinking and strengthen the research profile of the location.

Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Mainz: Byzanz zwischen Orient und Okzident

Themenfeld

Das Byzantinische Reich spielte bei der Entstehung des modernen Europa und des Vorderen Orient eine herausragende Rolle. Zwischen dem 4. und dem 12. Jahrhundert war es die Leitkultur, welche in allen Lebensbereichen Maßstäbe setzte und sämtliche Nachbarstaaten wesentlich beeinflusste. Byzanz bildete eine Brücke von der Antike in die Neuzeit und gleichzeitig von Europa in den Orient. In Gestalt der orthodoxen Kirche ist das byzantinische Erbe in vielen Staaten bis heute präsent. Trotz ihrer historischen Bedeutung fristet die Erforschung der byzantinischen Geschichte und Kultur in Deutschland ein Nischendasein, obwohl das byzantinische Element vor dem Hintergrund des europäischen Einigungsprozesses ein neues Gewicht bekommt.

Zielsetzung

Ziel des WissenschaftsCampus Mainz ist es, eine breite Plattform für interdisziplinäre Byzanzforschung institutionell zu etablieren. Beteiligt sind neben der Byzantinistik und der Christlichen Archäologie und Byzantinischen Kunstgeschichte sämtliche Fächer, die zur Erforschung des Byzantinischen Reichs und seiner Kultur beitragen. Der WissenschaftsCampus Mainz fördert die Integration der zersplitterten Wissenschaftsdisziplinen, die sich mit Byzanz befassen. Er ermöglicht themenorientierte, multidisziplinäre, historisch-kulturwissenschaftliche Forschung unter einem Dach und bewirkt durch einen gemeinsamen Auftritt der Byzanzforschung eine bessere Sichtbarkeit dieses Fachgebiets.

Konzept

Beim Konzept des WissenschaftsCampus handelt es sich um eine Initiative der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, welche zum Ziel hat, außeruniversitäre und universitäre Forschung stärker zu vernetzen. Unter dem Dach des Campus sollen Exzellenzen gebündelt, strategische Forschung betrieben, Interdisziplinarität befördert sowie das Forschungsprofil des Standortes gestärkt werden.